You Are Reading
J.Lo and Shakira Absolutely Slayed Their Super Bowl Halftime Show

J.Lo and Shakira Absolutely Slayed Their Super Bowl Halftime Show

J.Lo pole danced! Her daughter sang a solo! Shakira crowd-surfed!

  • Jennifer Lopez and Shakira delivered a stellar Super Bowl Halftime Show with guest appearances from J Balvin, Bad Bunny, and Lopez’s daughter, Emme.
  • The superstar duo revisited some of their best hits, including “Hips Don’t Lie,” “Jenny from the Block,” and “Let’s Get Loud.”

They really did that!

After a months-long wait, Jennifer Lopez and Shakira shared the stage during the Super Bowl LIV Halftime Show and absolutely wowed with a high-energy medley of hits. The pair took turns going through their repertoires, including Shakira’s “She Wolf,” “Empire,” “Whenever, Wherever,” “Puro Chantaje,” and “Hips Don’t Lie;” and J.Lo’s “Jenny from the Block,” “Get Right,” and On the Floor.”

The set was not lacking in big dance numbers and fireworks. Shakira showed off her guitar and drum skills, delivered a steamy dance solo, and even crowd surfed. Meanwhile, J.Lo bolstered her segment with a pole routine performing “Waiting for Tonight,” tipping a hat to her widely celebrated role in Hustlers. (Take that, Oscars!)

Shakira shreds on the guitar.
J.Lo pole dances at the halftime show.

As is tradition with recent Super Bowl performances, this year’s show had its share of surprise guests, including Bad Bunny, who joined Shakira in a rendition of “I Like It Like That,” and J Balvin, who performed “Que Calor” and “Mi Gente,” which mashed up with Lopez’s “Love Don’t Cost a Thing.” The best guest performer, though, was Lopez’s 11-year-old daughter, Emme Muñiz, who sang an angelic version of “Let’s Get Loud” with a choir and dance ensemble of women and girls.

To close the show, Shakira and Lopez joined forces for an explosive performance of “Let’s Get Loud” and “Waka Waka (This Time for Africa).” For her final look, Lopez emerged draped in a feathery Puerto Rican flag, honoring her background.

Shakira and J.Lo’s set was announced in September 2019. They follow performers in past years who include Maroon 5, Travis Scott, and Big Boi in 2019; Justin Timberlake in 2018; Lady Gaga in 2017; Coldplay, Beyoncé, and Bruno Mars in 2016; Katy Perry in 2015; and Bruno Mars and Red Hot Chili Peppers in 2014.

We are still reeling from tonight’s show.